Family Child Care Licensing

Empower to Educate

Empower to educate helps those who are currently or are aspiring early childhood education to advance their career goals of child care. Child Care Aware offers financial support, training opportunities, job placement support, and mentorship opportunities. Child Care Aware offers ongoing support from the local advisor as you continue your growth. To be eligible for this you must live in Minnesota, be able to pass a background study, be interested in a career at a licensed or child care program in Minnesota, and complete and sign the Empower to Educate Agreement form.

Benefits include:

  • Ongoing support
  • Financial support
  • Hiring bonus after working at a licensed child care program
  • Referrals to community resources and support
  • Information about opportunities to continue your education


For more information please click HERE.


Wilkin County Family Services is responsible to license and monitor family child care homes. Providers must be 18 years of age and a resident of Wilkin County. Please start by reading and/or printing our new applicant letter and the guide to becoming a licensed family child care provider. Click on "How to Become Licensed" to find the necessary documents. 

How to become licensed

After reading the Guide To Become a Licensed Provider you will need to download the following documents:

  1. Family licensing application. This will need to be notarized ($50 fee enclosed)
  2. Background Study  * Required for all persons in the households ages 13 and all substitute care providers.

Return above documents ( family licensing application and background study)   * You will then receive a phone call from the licensor after these forms are completed and turned in.


 After initial application is received, these additional documents will need to be filled out.

  1. Drug and Alcohol Policy
  2. Privacy Rights (signed/dated)
  3. Physicians Statement
  4. Fire Marshal request form ($50, money order or certified check to state fire Marshal)
  5. Family Child Care Licensing Requirements
  6. Floor Escape Plan
  7. Animal Vaccinations
  8. Policy and procedure complete
  9. Child admission forms packet completed
  10. MN Family Disaster/Emergency Plan (Addendum Emergency Plan)
  11. Water Test
  12. Workman's Comp Form
  13. Mandated Reporter Report
  14. COVID-19 Preparedness Plan



Below are the Rules and Statutes that are pertinent to each of the above categories. We suggest that you visit the State of Minnesota Reviser's website using the link at the right to review and/or print each section applicable to your program license.


Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245A (Human Services Licensing Act)


Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 245C (Human Services Background Studies Act)


Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0300 to 9502.0445 (Rule 2)


DHS Licensed Family Child Care Resource and Forms Page